President Trump Issues New Travel Ban Expanding Countries Affected By Travel Restrictions

On September 24, 2017, President Trump issued a Proclamation enhancing the vetting capabilities and processes for detecting attempted entry into the United States by terrorists or other public safety threats.  The Proclamation suspended and limited, subject to categorical exceptions and case-by-case waivers, entry into the United States of nationals of Chad, Iran, Libya, Syria, Yemen, Somalia, and North Korea.

Through the Proclamation, the President also barred certain government officials from Venezuela and their immediate family members from using certain nonimmigrant visas to enter the United States.  The Proclamation further stated that nationals of Venezuela who are visa holders should be subject to appropriate additional measures to ensure their traveler information remains current.

These new restrictions will come into effect on October 18, 2017.  The Cozen O’ Connor team will be following any new developments regarding this Proclamation and any clarifications regarding particular exceptions to the suspension.

About The Author
Posted in In The News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


About ABCs of Immigration Law
The global economy has become increasingly transactional and transcontinental. Since 9/11, there have been many amendments to immigration laws in the United States that have largely affected both individuals and businesses. Cozen O'Connor's immigration law blog, ABC's of Immigration Law, focuses on the interests and the challenges faced by those individuals and business impacted by immigration laws.
Subscribe For Updates


Cozen O’Connor Blogs